critique

critique

My wife has listened to my preaching for the best part of seventeen years…and later on my daughters have, too. They have heard the good, the bad, and the ugly from me and from others. They are discerning and know the different from when it was cracked out of the park and when it flew like a lead balloon. They are great to ask ‘how do you think it went’ and they can usually tell you what didn’t work and what did. I don’t ask that question to get a compliment, even though that may happen, but I want to know if things were clear and if Christ was exalted. (Pride has the ability to rear it’s ugly head when this happens from time to time and I have to often remind myself that it’s so not about me…self doesn’t belong on the throne). Anyway, I was reading one of my favourite bloggers this week who posted on this very topic. http://www.thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/erikraymond/2011/02/28/why-pastors-should-value-sermon-feedback-from-their-wife/

Leave a Reply

