experience isn’t everything

We live in a world where experience trumps all. There’s a gal I know who grew up in a liberal denomination. She recently made the transition to a large church, I think they would call themselves  ‘seeker friendly’. So, I think what she’s getting now is better than what she was getting before. Are they clear on the gospel at this church, I don’t know. It’s been a lot of years since I’ve been there and my beliefs have matured and narrowed so I’m not sure what my evaluation would be, in light of Scripture. She told me that she started attending there because she got a good feeling.

One pastor from a small rural church had a family visit him a time or two. This community was near the border and this family would make the drive across the border to go to church in a large U.S. city, every Sunday. They went there because they said that the pastor spoke like the Apostle Paul. I’m not sure what that meant but I wonder if he brought them a good feeling.

I like what Voddie Baucham says in the video. ‘Our experience needs to be brought into subjection to the truth.’ He says that very well. I would suggest that most of us like to feel things but sometimes we are unable to discern if what we are feeling lines up with the truth. Some go on Sunday morning looking for a good feeling that lasts the length of the sermon and then the sermon ends and they live their lives going from good feeling to good feeling.

‘I like to shop cause that gives me a good feeling.’ ‘I like to eat ice cream and chips because that gives me a good feeling.’ ‘I like to watch movies cause that gives me a good feeling.’ I’d suggest that many lives move from good feeling to good feeling. Is it any wonder that a pastor can preach a straight word and it’s like it’s operation crowd reduction because a lot less come out the next Sunday. The straight word didn’t give them a good feeling.

The truth of the Word can sometimes give us a good feeling. It can comfort us through the most difficult of circumstances. That’s what it does…sometimes. Other times it can be like a axe to our souls. It can leave us convicted…and in the dust…and repentant. Is that a bad thing?

Oh, that we would be like the Bereans and oh, that we would know what to do with our thoughts.

[11] Now these Jews were more noble than those in Thessalonica; they received the word with all eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily to see if these things were so. (Acts 17:11 ESV)

[5] We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, (2 Corinthians 10:5 ESV) 

Leave a Reply

