BLACK FRIDAY

blackfriday

 

I was having a discussion with a co-worker yesterday and he was hoping to get the day off so he could go with his wife and do some Black Friday shopping stateside. So I had to tell him my story.

We lived twenty minutes from the border and I had a flexible sched and it was kinda hard to pass up on the temptation to look for deals the day after Thanksgiving…but I didn’t go it alone. We went twice and Bonita was at my side both times and Nadia went once. We saw some pretty crazy outfits on ladies who were prepped to shop. Goofy flashing t-shirts and crazy Christmas tree hats in the mega-crowds was the way I remember it. We saw a hardcore shop team of Grandma, Mom, and Daughter with their lists, highlighters, and flyers. They had flyers from every store because they knew that they’d price match.

But the standout moment was when Bonita talked to some ladies in the parking lot around lunch time. They drove from Chatham and their van was open and it was stuffed to the roof. There was no way they could jam anymore into the vehicle. Bonita was eyeballing their load when one of the ladies said, ‘I have a brother who lives in Sarnia. We’re seriously considering dropping our haul off at his place and coming back for round two!’ Round two? Really?

Back to yesterday…my co-worker mentioned that him and his wife were careful shoppers. They did shop and release….if they didn’t need it. He said that they knew the difference between what they wanted and what they needed. That phrase struck me. Do any of us really know the difference between what we want and what we need. (Five minutes ago I was searching on-line to get a good deal on a Christmas gift…for myself!)

I just want to walk through a few passages that speak into the whole BF phenom.

[44] “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.
(Matthew 13:44 ESV)

Salvation is of most awesome value (and not just for the next life!) and people who’ve have it revealed to them will give up everything to have it…if they needed to.

[3] Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places,  (Ephesians 1:3 ESV)

Believer have been given total blessing in Christ. That we would dig into the depths of our blessings in Christ and be satisfied in them. When we mine the Word our spiritual blessings begin to look greater (because they are) and the things of this life?…not so much…the dazzle dulls.

[10] I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. [11] Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. [12] I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. [13] I can do all things through him who strengthens me.  (Phil. 4:10-13 ESV)

Paul had learned contentment in all circumstances. He was content whether the cupboard was bare or stocked…because he had Jesus.

[16] And behold, a man came up to him, saying, “Teacher, what good deed must I do to have eternal life?” [17] And he said to him, “Why do you ask me about what is good? There is only one who is good. If you would enter life, keep the commandments.” [18] He said to him, “Which ones?” And Jesus said, “You shall not murder, You shall not commit adultery, You shall not steal, You shall not bear false witness, [19] Honor your father and mother, and, You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” [20] The young man said to him, “All these I have kept. What do I still lack?” [21] Jesus said to him, “If you would be perfect, go, sell what you possess and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me.” [22] When the young man heard this he went away sorrowful, for he had great possessions.  (Matthew 19:16-22 ESV)

This guy had hands full of stuff but empty of Jesus. Jesus asked him to empty his hands but the sparkle of his stuff outshone the sparkle of Jesus…in his eyes anyway.

Our greatest treasure is in Christ. The BF sales will come and go and the stuff we buy will come and go…and it will all eventually burn. I’m not saying don’t go shopping today. I’m not saying don’t find a good deal today. But oh, that we would see the treasures of this life and see and savour the true Treasure…in light of eternity.

 

 

Leave a Reply

