thankful

thankful

I didn’t want to talk about being thankful last weekend because that would have been a little too cliche. So I waited a week. Bonita and I were out for a walk Sunday afternoon and were enjoying the crisp, cool fall weather.  The beauty surrounding me reminded me that I have much to be thankful for but the Word reminds me of Who I should be thankful to.

[8] First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you, because your faith is proclaimed in all the world.  (Romans 1:8 ESV)

Paul had the emphasis on the right syllable. He was thankful to God for the gang in Rome. God is the giver of gifts whether they are spiritual or material or whatever.

[17] Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.  (James 1:17 ESV)

I have a lot to be thankful for but today I just want to spend time on my biological family and my spiritual family.

I have been given an amazing gift in my wife. When we first got married I was taken by her beauty, and still am, but there is so much more to Bonita than what you see. She can diagnose a problem on the car and usually be right. She has fixed toilets and sinks. She can balance the cheque book with one hand and make investments with the other. She decorates and gardens and sometimes even weed wacks. I have come home two or three times to find all the furniture shoved to the middle of the room and covered with drop cloths and she’s got on her scrubs and she’s painting! She is an amazing mom to our girls…she can be snuggling or consoling them one minute and showing tough love the next. She works full time as an RRT and does it very well as she balances between the middle management side and the clinical side. She is outstanding at keeping our house clean and our cars clean. She is a good shopper and can sniff out a deal from five miles away. The old adage goes ‘behind every great man is a great women.’ I would spin that phrase and say behind every graced man is a graced women and God has certainly graced me with a women who has celebrated with me through the highs and prayed with me through the lows. We have known each other for twenty-seven years and have been married for over twenty-three and I am thankful to God for the life partner He’s given to me.

I have been blessed with a couple of pretty cool daughters, too. Danny is our amazingly creative daughter…it comes out in her art work at school and in her activities on the computer. She drives me to work every time I work day shift and has become quite the chef around our household through this busy transitional season. We are both a lover of words and books and Bonita says that we’re alike more than we know. Nadia is our gifted student and has gained her mom’s competitive spirit. (Maybe a little of mine too…I can be horribly competitive at Dutch Blitz!) It comes out on the basketball and volleyball courts and even her newest of sports: badminton. I am thankful for the opportunities that I have had to see her play some high bar games, particularly on the volleyball court. I have two daughters that I am thankful to God for and love dearly.

And I can’t leave out that all three of them have the ability to help me match my clothes!

I also have to mention my church family. When I resigned back in March it was a no brainer where we’d end up fellowshipping. I had known the pastors for some time and had appreciated their high view of Scripture. This comes across every Sunday morning when we are fed so well from the Word. I often thank God at lunch on Sunday for ‘a word well preached.’ We know that our new church family is not perfect but it’s a good family. We have had the opportunity to get together with many of the families over campfires, meals, and desserts over our past few months there. It was a great day when we came into membership a few weeks back. I think I summed it up well on a Facebook post when I said that our new church is ‘theological and they like to have fun, too.’

So on today’s post I just wanted to take the time to thank God for my biological family and my spiritual family. I am truly a blessed man!

Leave a Reply

