cooler on-line

cooleronline

I grew up listening to Waylon and Willie and the boys but have really enjoyed the new country that I’ve listened to over the last couple of years. Last October Brad Paisley was coming to the Bud, so I bought a couple of nose bleed seats and Bonita and I had a great night out. We did have the cheapy seats but we didn’t miss a thing…it truly was a show…the best concert I have been to, hands down…ever. The only downer was that the gal beside me was a ‘singer’.  She sang loud and she sang proud and she knew every word…the only problem was that she was stone cold tone deaf! Anyway…it was a good night.

I really enjoy some of the humour in Paisley’s music.  We were struck with a song called Online.  It tells the story of how a guy takes a dramatic shift from the real reality and from the fabricated reality that he creates on social media. 

I work down at the pizza pit

And I drive an old Hyundai

I still live with mom and dad

I’m five foot three and overweight

But when he goes down to his basement bedroom and cranks up his Mac (I really do appreciate the Apple line!), a metamorphosis takes place.  He grows over a foot and drives a hot car and has a ‘set of six pack abs that will blow your mind’.

I joined Facebook a couple of years ago and I wonder if what we project is our real selves or what we want others to think we are.  We can post pictures of ourselves in the best of light.  We can always play the hero in the stories that we tell.  We can exaggerate about the stupidities of others and the stellar qualities of ourselves.  Romans 12 reminds us that we are to not think of ourselves more highly than we ought to think.  Sometimes I think we think of ourselves way too much…and my hand is the first in the air.

Wouldn’t it be great if we were so amazed at Jesus more than we were amazed about ourselves?  I think there’s a picture in Scripture that says we become what we behold.  We become like the One who has our attention.

Paul wrote

[18] And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.  (2 Corinthians 3:18 ESV)      

The text goes on to say that Satan has blinded the minds of unbelievers from seeing the gospel…from seeing their need for Jesus.  (And we do know from Job that God is sovereign over this.)  But Satan often blinds the minds of believers as well.  And when we become less God-centred we will most likely become more me-centred.

If we get locked onto Jesus, if we behold Him, we become like Him. If we’re gripped by the glory of God more and more, we will be less gripped by the glory of ourselves…and really we’re not that glorious!  As we read the old old stories of Jesus in the gospels, as we linger over God’s activity in the Old Testament, as we see the work of the Spirit in the book of Acts, we will be more awed by the beauty and the holiness and the grace and the mercy and the love of Jesus. 

As I think about thinking about ourselves, we are to think accurately, rightly, and as we see ourselves in light of the cross, we get a more accurate self-perception.  Some suggest that we are to think lowly of ourselves and I believe that that is biblical but I’d also suggest that the more we think about Jesus, the less we think about ourselves and in the process we become more like Jesus…and that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

