healing and wisdom prayers

wisdom

I’ve found more often than not, what I am teaching, preaching, or blogging through, is first and foremost for me.  When our Sunday School class walked through systematic theology, I needed to hear about God’s attributes.  When we studied God’s holiness, I was so needing to be reminded.  When our church took five years in an on-again, off again study in Romans, it was so for my own soul.  I have found since launching into prayer in this blog, it’s so been for me…to spur me on to be more faithful in the prayer department.  So what are a couple of more ways that we can be praying biblically?  

Believers get into wrestling matches over healing today.  I see stuff on TV where supposed healing takes place and a lot of it just makes people look really goofy.  Don’t believe someone was healed just because a clown in a suit said so.  I’m not sure whether to laugh or cry when I hear about this…actually I should be crying over many being misled and duped and sending in their hard earned cash…but bathwater can be tossed and baby can be kept.  Scripture does talk about praying for healing. 

[13] Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praise. [14] Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. [15] And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven.  [16] Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.  (James 5:13-16 ESV)

This is a text that has the elders praying for the health of someone.  Other texts will confirm that whether God heals someone or not is entirely His business and is somehow about His glory and our good.  So the broad encouragement of this text is to pray for healing and the narrow encouragement is don’t be afraid to give your church leaders a call to come and pray over you.  The text also suggests that confession of sin may need to take place before healing does (1 Corinthians 11:29-30).

It was clear that God had other plans for the Apostle Paul when he asked for the pesky thorn to be removed. 

[8] Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. [9] But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  (2 Corinthians 12:8-9 ESV)

God didn’t heal him and the Lord said that His grace was enough.  God wouldn’t supply Paul with healing grace but with coping grace to help him through this nagging difficulty.  For those of us who have prayed for healing without results, we may need to shift gears in our prayers.  

Are you making the connection between prayer and the Word, yet?  Scripture has so much to teach us. 

We all need strategic wisdom.  I believe that the Word allows believers to make lots of choice in their lives…and that’s another blog for another time.  I could recommend Kevin DeYoung’s book Just Do Something to pipe you into the much freedom we have with choice in decision making, but God’s Word also calls us to ask for wisdom.

[5] If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.  (James 1:5 ESV)

If we silently pray for wisdom during witnessing opportunities, God can bring verses that we’ve memorized to mind.  If we’re seeking wisdom over decisions in life, God’s Word is chucked full of God’s voice.  We can remember principles and passages and insights from the Scriptures.  Remember, God’s Spirit will never take us someplace that God’s Word doesn’t.  Our feelings can be a powerful thing but they can also be powerfully wrong.  We need more than feelings, we need God’s wisdom.

Many times God answers the prayer for wisdom through seasoned vets of the faith.  We can gain so much wisdom from the body.  I met with a couple of pastor bros yesterday as I consider my future and one of them had been where I am.  He listened carefully to my comments and my heart and he asked a series of questions to kinda find out where I was at and he gave me some godly advice.  I will most definitely give his words consideration.   One of the key ways that God can give us wisdom is through the community of the saints.  Oh, how we need each other…and that’s one of the reasons that relationships in the body are vital.

So how can you be praying for healing or wisdom, today? 

Leave a Reply

